Tuesday, October 13, 2009

Delhi Daredevils beat Wayamba by 50 runs

The Ferozeshah Kotla looked amazing as it was almost full on Sunday,with the Daredevils taking on Sri Lanka's Wayamba Elevens at home.I was watching the match in the stadium and the experience was as usual totally amazing.Delhi won the toss and decided to bat first.Dilshan opened the innings with Virender Sehwag.The start was slow,however,once Sehwag got set,he started playing some amazing shots.He made 66 off 42 balls.Dinesh Karthik came in after Gautam Gambhir got out early off the bowling f Mendis.Karthik batted well and Kept the momentum going.Karthik smashed 3 consecutive sixes off 3 balls against Ajanta Mendis.With this,Delhi got to 170,which was never an easy score on the slow track.Welegedera was the most impressive with 2/24 in his spell of 4 overs.
The Sri Lankan reply started shakily as they lost their first wicket in the 2nd over.Dirk Nannes got the early break through.Not many batsmen got starts and Delhi took wickets regularly.After losing 5 wickets for 36 in the 8th over,Wayamba were in big trouble.Their only hope was Mahela Jayawardena who looked solid.He made 53 off 40 balls including 2 big sixes.However,he got no support what so ever and Wayamba Eleven fell short by 50 runs.Dirk Nannes and Glenn McGrath were both very impressive,taking 4 and 2 wickets respectively.Delhi got what it needed.The win will surely boost their net run rate and opens up Group D.

1 comment:

  1. In cricket, a batsman can be out stumped if:

    the wicket-keeper puts down the wicket, while the batsman is:
    out of his ground (because he has moved down the pitch beyond the popping crease, usually in an attempt to hit the ball);
    receiving a delivery which is not a no ball; and
    not attempting a run.
    Being "out of his ground" is defined as not having any part of the batsman's body or his bat touching the ground behind the crease - ie, if his bat is slightly elevated from the floor despite being behind the crease then he would be considered out (if stumped). One of the fielding team (such as the wicket-keeper himself) must appeal for the wicket by asking the umpire. The appeal is normally directed to the square-leg umpire, who would be in the best position to adjudicate on the appeal.

    Stumping is the fifth most common form of dismissal after caught, bowled, leg before wicket and run out, though it is seen more commonly in Twenty20 cricket. It is governed by Law 39 of the Laws of cricket. It is usually seen when a medium or slow bowler is bowling, as with fast bowlers a wicket-keeper takes the ball too far back from the wicket to attempt a stumping. It requires co-operation between a bowler and wicket-keeper: the bowler must induce the batsman to move out of his ground, and the wicket-keeper must catch and break the wicket before the batsman realises he has missed the ball and makes his ground, i.e. places the bat or part of his body on the ground back behind the popping crease. If the bails are removed before the wicket-keeper has the ball, the batsman can still be stumped if the wicket-keeper removes one of the stumps from the ground, while holding the ball in his hand. The bowler is credited for the batsman's wicket, and the wicket-keeper is credited for the dismissal. A batsman may not be out stumped off a no ball, but may be stumped off a wide delivery.


    "On the crease" is not "behind the crease".
    The wicket must be properly put down in accordance with Law 28 of the Laws of cricket: using either the ball itself or a hand or arm that is in possession of the ball. Note that since the ball itself can legally put down the wicket, a stumping is still valid even if the ball merely rebounds from the 'keeper and breaks the wicket, even though never controlled by him.
    The wicket-keeper must allow the ball to pass the stumps before taking it, unless it has touched either bat or batsman first.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...