Sunday, October 11, 2009

Somerset win in last ball thriller

Alfonso Thomas held his nerves to clinch an important win for Somerset over home team Hyderabad Deccan Chargers by 1 wicket.Deccan Chargers batted first,making only 153 on a track which looked good for 175.VVS Laxman was top scorer with 46 off 35 balls.Laxman looked in fine touch,thanks to his stint at Lancashire.Rohit Sharma made 24,while Venugopal Rao made a quick 22 in the end.Trego made 2/19 in his 4 overs,while Thomas also took 2/25.In the second innings,many Somerset batsmen got starts,but no one really clicked on to make a big score.They were in trouble after having lost 7 wickets for just 99.Hildreth and Thomas came to the rescue of Somerset as they had 50 run partnership off 32 balls to get them back in the game.Hildreth made 25 before getting out on the 1st ball of the last over.With 5 needed off the last over and Fidel Edwards being unable to bowl the 4th over because of bowling 2 beamers,Adam Gilchrist had to turn to Scott Styris.Styris got two wickets off the first three balls wothout conceding a run,and the match was wide open again.But,Thomas was back on strike and he smashed a four to make the equation simpler for the English team.With 1 needed off 2,Styris bowled a dot ball and further tensed the situation up.However Thomas,who was declared 'Man of The Match',hit a four off the last ball to take Somerset to 2 points.

1 comment:

  1. Law 37 of the Laws of cricket provides that:

    "Either batsman is out Obstructing the field if he wilfully obstructs or distracts the opposing side by word or action. It shall be regarded as obstruction if either batsman wilfully, and without the consent of the fielding side, strikes the ball with his bat or person, other than a hand not holding the bat, after the ball has touched a fielder."

    If the obstruction is accidental, then it is not wilful, and so the batsman cannot be given out Obstructing the field.

    Paragraph 3 of the Law provides that:

    "The striker is out should wilful obstruction or distraction by either batsman prevent a catch being made. This shall apply even though the striker causes the obstruction in lawfully guarding his wicket under the provisions of Law 34.3 (Ball lawfully struck more than once)."

    This predecessor of this part of Law 37 was in point for the only such dismissal in Test match cricket. Len Hutton, when playing for England against South Africa in 1951 at the Oval when a ball hit his bat handle and popped up. As the ball came down toward his stumps, he hit it away, obstructing the wicketkeeper Russell Endean from taking the catch. Coincidentally, Russell Endean was the first man given out handled the ball in a Test match.

    [edit] Other provisions of Law 37
    If either batsman is out 'obstructing the field', any runs completed before the offence, together with any penalty extras and the penalty for a No ball or Wide are still scored, except when the offence stopped a catch being caught when only penalties are still scored.

    The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.

    [edit] Earliest recorded instance
    This occurred in a minor match at Sheffield on Monday 27 August 1792, between Sheffield Cricket Club and Bents Green. Sheffield won by 10 wickets in a match that was notable for two other reasons, these being that it was the first match played in Yorkshire for which full scores are recorded and it was the earliest known instance of a three innings match.

    The information was recorded by G B Buckley from the Sheffield Advertiser dated 31 August 1792. The Bents Green player John Shaw, who scored 7 in the first innings, had his dismissal recorded as "run out of the ground to hinder a catch".

    [edit] Unusual dismissal
    It is very unusual for a batsman to get out 'obstructing the field'. There are only 4 examples in international cricket.

    Len Hutton is the only man given out this way in Test cricket. In One Day Internationals, Rameez Raja (for Pakistan against England at Karachi in 1987) was given out for hitting the ball away with his bat to avoid being run out going for his century off the last ball of the innings, and Mohinder Amarnath (for India against Sri Lanka at Ahmedabad in 1989) was given out for kicking the ball away to avoid being run out. The most recent batsman to be given out this way is Inzamam-ul-Haq of Pakistan in the first ODI of India vs Pakistan Hutch Cup on February 6, 2006. After Inzamam drove the ball to mid off, Indian Suresh Raina threw it back to the striker's end, Inzamam stopping it with his bat. Umpire Simon Taufel gave him out as he was in the line of the stumps and out of his crease.

    [edit] List of batsmen dismissed 'Obstructing the Field'
    The complete list of batsmen given out 'Obstructing the Field' in One Day Internationals is:

    One Day International dismissals handled the ball
    No Batsman Country Opposition Venue Date
    1 Rameez Raja Pakistan England Lahore, Pakistan November 1987
    2 Mohinder Amarnath India Sri Lanka Ahmedabad, India October 1989
    3 Inzamam-ul-Haq Pakistan India Peshawar, Pakistan 6 February 2006


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...